A long time ago…


Three years ago I started this blog, because I had stuff I needed to say.  Things I noticed about the malformed relationship between engineering and marketing.  Misunderstandings, that led to friction, that led to an unnecessary adversarial relationship.

Then I got involved in sales enablement, and realized there was a third misunderstood player in the game–the sales team.  The three teams–product, marketing, and sales–could very easily go merrily on their way, doing what they thought was right from their perspective, and getting in each others’ way.

I drifted away from this blog’s theme, as my career became less about my transition from engineering to marketing, and more about the gap between marketing and sales.

A few months ago, I realized I still had more to say.  I started a new job.  I encountered more examples of the misalignment of the three organizations.

Join me as I revisit this Star Wars metaphor, and together we’ll rule the galaxy, father and son  explore more ways to close the gap between the Light Side of engineering, the Dark Side of marketing… and the Bounty Hunters of sales.

About Jeff Foley

Jeff Foley is the Director of Product Marketing for Customer Service Applications at Pegasystems. Jeff started his career as an engineer at Dragon Systems, before moving over to “the Dark Side” of marketing as the product manager for Dragon NaturallySpeaking v5. Throughout product launches at enterprise and consumer companies like Dragon, edocs, Atari, Nuance, Bullhorn, and now Pega, Jeff has aligned sales, marketing, and product organizations around new technologies to deliver software his customers love to use. Jeff holds BS and MEng degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

